top of page



Emmanuel De La Paix

As an artist I want to explore the relationship between music, nature and technology.
Technology is changing our relationship with Nature and also ourselves (part of the Nature too). Music is an intimate place of human nature.
So, in my music creations I explore the different options that
technology gives us, to find new ways to express feelings.

Rescue Pack Album has also a message: music is the Rescue Pack, the breakglass Tool of human suffering conditions.

Art in general elevates us with its unique way to recycle bad experiences in something actually great. It blooms. Like Nature does in the worst places...also where the field is dark.

Terre brûlée


1. Snowfall
2. Moonburn
3. Heathen
4. Green machine
5. Earth pulse
6. Dark nature
7. Sunborn
8. Murals
9. Miserychords

℗ 2022

Terre brûlée is not only the French term describing scorched earth, i.e. a war-time strategy of not leaving anything behind when retreating from an enemy but also the state into which humanity seems to drive our planet. And it is no coincidence that it is the title of Emmanuel de la Paix’s follow-up album to his outstanding debut “Rescue Pack”. The nine new tracks find their sweet spot once again at the Radiohead-esk intersection of shoegaze, post rock and cinematographic ambient, yet this time, the drama leaves more space for the atmospheric undertones and the quiet and subtle urgency of Emmanuels music. To this end, “Terre brûlée” reminisces of brilliant acts like Bohren & the Club of Gore or Godspeed You! Black Emperor who are adding to the obvious references to

Icelandic post rock drama known from his predecessor. When speaking of Iceland, it is worth highlighting that the album has been magnificently mixed and mastered by Birgir Jon Birgirsson who has not only done so for Emmanuele’s debut album but probably for most of Icelands finest acts throughout the last decade. The slow burning deepness of Terre brûlée manifests perfectly on tracks like “Earth Pulse” or “Miserychords” where piano, distorted guitars and crisp electronica converge into an immersive wall of sound that appears to move slowly but steadily and shows less superficial pose but more substance and depth. Complementing the overall impression is the artwork that is an apocalyptic creation from steel, paper and leather in an amazing Terre brûlée colour and has been created by the emerging Swiss Artist - Matthew Gottardi. By exploring his trademark ingredients more in-depth than in-breadth, Emmanuel's new album creates a sound that is more post-ambient and less post-rock than the predecessor and through

that, appears even more mature and balanced.

Rescue pack

℗ 2021

1. Oasis
2. Artificial Intelligence
3. So Wyt
4. Go To Beep
5. Rescue Pack
6. Blue Space
7. Clouds To Climb
8. Unmuted
9. Fingerprints
10. Birch Forest

Isa flower 3.jpeg

Zurich-based artist Emmanuel de la Paix is a new entry to the Broque roster and brings in an entirely new perspective on the interplay between music, nature and technology. His debut album “Rescue Pack” is a grandiose mix of shoegaze-ish post rock, ambient and experimental electronics reminiscing of the likes of Sigur Ros, Ben Frost, De La Mancha, and in some special moments, Radiohead. Inspired by the rough landscapes and unrestrained forces of nature found in both Switzerland and Iceland, the epic songs tell of the healing power behind nature as well as music, a feature which unites the two in a unique way. After having said all that, it may come as no surprise that the album was masterered by Icelands sfinest, Birgir Jón Birgirsson, who has been the sound engineer mastermind behind virtually all of Icelandic music and beyond, spanning artists like Sóley, Sigur Rós or Samaris, but also including the likes of Julianna Barwick or Efterklang. The ten songs of “Rescue Pack” tell a story that is both emotionally engaging, full of passion and always surprising in the way in which it conveys.


bottom of page